Laundromat

Having always had a washer and dryer in my home, I’ve never had the need to go to a laundromat and hang out with the plebes who lack their own agitator and tumble dry settings.  It can be argued that I still have access to a washer and dryer.  In fact, they are located right under the stairs that go up to my front door.  I would counter that statement with the fact that my OCD neighbor with two teenage boys never gives me a chance to use it.  Seriously, they must get paid in quarters to keep those machines running AT ALL TIMES!

So, with the help of the Yelp App on my trust iPhone, I located a laundromat with good reviews.  I’m not sure how a laundromat would get bad reviews, but I wasn’t willing to take the chance.

I mean, it was voted the best, so how can you argue with that?

Now, everything I know about laundromats is from movies.  And those lessons are that hot, approachable girls hang out there.  Alright, most of that is from 40 Days & 40 Nights.  Before you laugh, it really isn’t a bad movie.  Besides starring My-Buddy-Got-Older Josh Hartnet, who I don’t like at all, it is funny and is really a guy movie hiding beneath the guise of being a Rom-com.  Now, in that movie, a stunning Shannyn Sossamon is shown doing her laundry on a Friday night and says a bunch of stuff I didn’t really pay attention to.  Maybe that was the problem.  I went on a Tuesday.

It was less this and more this.

Yeah.

So, focusing on the laundry.  Actually, I really like it because it doesn’t take ALL FREAKING DAY to do laundry when you can do all your loads at once.  One hour and I’m done.  I’m positive I exceeded the limits on how many clothes were supposed to go in each wash cycle, but whatev’s.  Ain’t my machine.

I was a big help twice though.  First, by pointing out to a guy who was trying desperately to get the change machine to take his dollar that the light was blinking and that would never swap his $1 bill for four quarters.  Next, I helped an old woman figure out that by pressing buttons on the dryers, things happen.

Would it be nice to have a machine in the house, sure, but if I’ve got to go up and down stairs and clear out 5 hours of time and use quarters anyway, I’m just going to the laundromat from now on.

Cold, Gentle. Just like your humble author.

 

Leave a Reply

